View Single Post
Anonymous45521

Default Nov 26, 2018 at 05:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucson View Post
It all comes down to the daily calorie intake, and nothing else. A typical person maintains there weight by consuming about 2080 calories a day.
No I think you're wrong. I think the truth is, and it will be proven eventually, that everyone is different. For instance I have had my metabolism tested twice and my BMR is anyplace from 1280 to 1500 -- likely total cals for the day 1400 to 1800. But the math doesn't add up. Typically it takes 800 cals or less to see a 1 lb weight loss per week.

I am not just a dieter, I am an expert dieter. I have tried EVERYTHING... several times over. Sometimes I think well, the good news is that I know what doesn't work.

At first, of about 50 things tried, I tried weight watchers. I watched the calories and about 30 lbs came off. However, then I got stuck. What I like to call.. "mega plateau". Reducing food and increasing exercise did nothing. I stayed like that for a year. Until I just couldn't any longer. This same pattern has gone on for years. I can lose weight but, then I hit a mega plateau. My most famous one was a liquid diet. I did that to prove to the naysayers that I wasn't "cheating" and guess what happened? I hit mega plateau. Even the diet plan had no answers for me.

Almost everything people suggest doesn't make much of a difference.
- weight lifting? Nada.
- exercise, nada.
- Changing what I eat to improve gut bacteria, nada.
- diet pills.. work a little.

Logging calories is my specialty -- along with getting on the scale. But this time around I have decided that is a mistake. It just makes the focus on the dieting too much. I just try to keep a rough estimate in my head and try not to go over 1000 calories.

I don't think I am alone either. There is a famous weight loss blog where they main person has exactly the profile as me. She also hasn't succeeded.