View Single Post
kittykat4324

Member Since Dec 2018
1 hugs
given
Default Jan 01, 2019 at 07:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sans Nom View Post
I have been suffering from an ongoing existential crisis for years. I occasionally "forget" about it, but it is always present, and it affects all my life. I think being depressed makes you look into things in a way that's not helpful for you to survive and live. Can I ask how you got out of it?
I am by no means an expert, so take it with a big grain of salt

For me, it was mostly imbalance in my life that caused it.. I was lonely & burned out due to overworking

That probably caused the depression / existential crisis, which in turn made my thoughts biased towards negativity, something that's not practical and helpful for a good life

Instead of going out and seeking help, I actually believed what I was thinking about, and following that I spent 3 months ruminating over existentialism and what not

One day I hang out with some colleagues of mine, and I've noticed I was feeling better, way better - so I begun doing that more and more
Same thing happened with exercise, after I've resumed jogging, each time I was exercising, the depressive thoughts would almost vanish

I begun hanging out more, begun working in public places and gradually, the depressive thoughts were getting less and less annoying. That's where I am at right now

One thing that I found particularly helpful is to NOT believe thoughts that seem unusually negative or depressive. When you have a low mood, your thinking would likely be biased towards negativity. Just be aware you are in a low mood & act on a way to treat it. For me that way was exercise, relationships & generally having something to do

The most helpful thing I've discovered is that when we are in a low mood (like depression), we tend to have thoughts that are not really "representative" of ourselves. Our flow of thinking tends to be wrong & biased towards negativity