View Single Post
Ididitmyway
Magnate

Member Since Jul 2011
128 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Jan 11, 2019 at 03:23 PM

I am in the field meaning that I am a mental health professional. However, I don't practice EMDR and wasn't trained in EMDR, so I am making a disclaimer from the get go that my opinion on EMDR specifically is not professional.

I do have a professional opinion though on how to approach issues that stem from adverse childhood experiences. IMO just because your ACE score was high doesn't necessarily mean you need EMDR.

As I said, I am familiar with EMDR only in general terms. I know what it's for and I know how it's performed but I don't know it's whole potential and the entire variety of issues it can treat. I think, it's a very promising method that could potentially help many people, but I also think that more research is needed to determine who can benefit best from it.

Generally speaking, I have a problem with quick recommendations such as "EMDR would be good for you if your ACE score is high".

Psychotherapy is not the same as the rest of the medical science. In psychotherapy, very little is proven to be factual and there are no methods that are researched well enough to predict what kind of results they produce and to explain precisely how they work. The human brain is not as well researched as the rest of the body. Neuroscience is only in its initial stage of development. And, most importantly, what we call "the mind" is much more than just the brain. It is now known that the heart and the gut have their own "brain" that sends information and commands to other organs of the body just as the brain in the head does and governs our behavior just as much. That area is not explored at all. So, whether professionals like to admit it or not, psychotherapy is pretty much in the stage of the dark age where it has to rely a lot on experimentation and will have to do it for a long time before it builds a strong scientific foundation.