View Single Post
Anonymous52222

Default Jan 17, 2019 at 06:38 PM

OK so I am a student at a community college and have a work study job that is really draining me both physically and emotionally.

I ended up joining community college in the first place all because I couldn't find a job anywhere. Nobody wanted me since I had such a large gap in my employment history (not being able to hold down a job for 4 years due to MI tends to do that) and I was desperate. I ended up getting the easiest possible job to apply for that I could and I've been with them for about a year now. The job is basically helping set up for college events, moving faculty member's furniture if they need something new or are moving offices, and helping with other misc jobs across campus as needed.

Anyways, this job has really been negatively affecting both my mental and physical health lately. It has been so stressful because we're understaffed like crazy since we can't get any more work studies because most students that need jobs would rather work a desk job and desk jobs pay the same. It's literally 3 people (2 full time guys and myself) handling the entire college campus. On top of it all, there has been more work for us to do. We had to move 2 entire departments across campus in the past week. We had to move a lawyer guy and his fancy expensive hard wood desks clear across campus and up 3 floors which took all day. We also have had to deal with a corrupt asshole of a school president that spends money on stupid crap instead of what the school actually needs and is rude a lot to us. He is so hated by our department that all everybody talks about (including my supervisor) is how much they can't stand them and how much they want to burn his tables and how much they want to hurt him and other stuff of that nature.