View Single Post
Anonymous57363
Anonymous57363 has no updates. Edit

Default Feb 15, 2019 at 10:50 AM

Oh Seeker! What a scary recurring thought for you. I'm no expert but it sounds like a manifestation of severe anxiety. Possibly even a form of phobia. Here's something that popped into my head when I read your post. Back when I did therapy, I had a psychologist who was talking to me about my own anxiety. I was worried a lot about the future at that time. Anyway, she mentioned a different client of hers who had a recurring fear that she would hurt a child. The client was a woman...apparently a decent person with zero desire to hurt anyone least of all children. But she was having to go to therapy because the fear almost became obsessive. Now unfortunately I can't share a therapy idea for dealing with it because my psychologist never brought up that client again or her strategies. But, I mention here because I feel quite sure that an experienced therapist could help you manage your fear of going to prison. Are you currently in therapy? have you mentioned that fear?

I don't want you to have any more ruined sunsets!!! I love to watch the sunset! In the meantime, how about this...next time you are enjoying a moment and the prison fear pops into your head trying saying to yourself out loud: "Well there goes my amygdala again...throwing out some odd anxiety...it's okay amygdala...focus on the moment...all is well...nobody is going to prison right now...so let's just take slow and deep breaths here...you and me amygdala...we are a team and we are okay!" I would suggest a combination of mindfulness and meditation. I have even used meditation when I have suicidal ideation without a plan or some sort of intense anxiety. It really helps. YouTube. 'Guided Meditation for panic' or 'guided meditation for fear of losing control'