View Single Post
Anonymous40127

Default Mar 25, 2019 at 12:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohseedee View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm 27 years old today and instead of being happy, I'm thinking about how slow my progress in life has been compared to my similarly aged peers.

I'm currently a full-time college student who will be graduating from a two-year program in Social Service Work this May. Afterwards I'll be going to university to continue my studies. I won't get my university degree until I'm at least 30. Meanwhile, many of my peers from high school already have their Masters degrees.

I spent much of my young adulthood in and out of the hospital for mental health issues, so I'm starting late. I just feel...inadequate. I had so much potential before these mental health issues came and delayed my progress.

I should be proud of how far I've come and what I'm doing, but instead I'm comparing myself to others who have done so much more by this age.

Can anyone relate to feeling behind in life?
First of all, you're not inadequate. This is not just my opinion, it's a scientific fact. You are not inadequate

My peers are of same age as me, some are ahead of me while most are in my boat. How can I transit from being an average student to an extraordinary student who eventually will become an even more extraordinary scientist?

The answer is hard work. Most of my friends failed in inorganic chemistry exam, while I started studying only three days before the exam, and with some resources (smart work) I was able to write answer to about 65% of the questions, meaning I will get around 50% in my report card.