3rd rock
Veteran Member

3rd rock would rather be camping

3 yr Member
5,805 hugs
given
Default Aug 20, 2019 at 09:50 PM

Some possible triggers below...

At my place of employment there is a strong culture of bullying. This culture comes from some of my co-workers, but also from certain members of management. It's the kind of bullying that whenever you complain about what it is, then it'll immediately be excused or minimised. It can take the form of public criticism rather than private, intimidating behaviour, favouritism in discipline, favouritism in work assignments, and other things like that. It's not a majority of people who are responsible for that, in fact it's probably only a small minority. This is one of the factors that led me to seek stress leave. I haven't been back at work since the beginning of May, as I've been seeking psychiatric care, with little progress having been made since then. I have been working at this company for over 5 years and it's only recently that the bullying has really escalated, or maybe it's that my general mental health has deteriorated so I can no longer put up with it. I have been suffering from depression to one extent or another for over 15 years, so workplace bullying doesn't cause it but definitely is a major factor in exacerbating it currently. It causes feelings of intense hopelessness and helplessness.