View Single Post
ringmodule

Member Since Mar 2020
Default Mar 25, 2020 at 07:55 AM

I'm 32 years old. I'm an aerospace engineer, but I wouldn't say I'm typical of my cohort.

My childhood was traumatizing. My 6'2" 250lb step-dad would lose control of himself on a weekly or monthly basis, screaming so loud that neighbors 3 doors down could hear, calling my mom a ****ing ***** and telling me that I need to move out. This started when I was 8.

My real father wasn't present at any point in my life. He died when I was 19.

In 7th grade I was truant for 3 weeks because I refused to get out of bed. The emotional chaos at home was exhausting.

High school was just a sequence of house parties as far as I recall. Did a lot of drugs.

So on and so forth, I ended up dropping out of high school and didn't turn it around until age 21 when I was finally diagnosed with major depression and prescribed Effexor. This drug really helped me get out of a bad place.

I proceeded to community college and then university. Did well in economics, psychology, and computer science. Spent a few years living on my own. It took me 8 years but I earned a bachelors of science in mathematics. Graduated when I was 28.

After graduating and landing my first job I spent another 2 years on my own. Then I had really big meltdown. Essentially on nothing more than impulse, I quit my job and moved to Oregon to work on a farm. Yeah, that kind of farm. Met a beautiful and intelligent girl out there and proceeded to completely **** her over by stealing her heart and then losing control of myself and calling her every name in the book. That's a paraphrase.