View Single Post
JH8854

Member Since Jul 2020
Heart Jul 28, 2020 at 02:52 PM

Hi, this is my first post on psych central forums. I’ve heard this is a helpful and supportive community and that’s what I need right now. I thank anyone who takes the time to read this and reply. It might be a bit long so please be patient.

I’m a young man in college, and I haven’t had a girlfriend or dated anyone yet, or admittedly even experienced a first kiss yet. All the romantic milestones I’ve crossed off none, and I have only myself to blame.

Since my first crush nine years ago I’ve developed feelings for dozens of girls over the years for different reasons. I’ve asked out about eleven people in my life but no more.

I’ve always struggled socially and been shy but this is exacerbated with women and because of this I have little to no experience with them and it frustrates and bothers me at this point.

Part of the reason for my shyness and introversion is due to a speech impairment I have. I have a quiet and scratchy sounding voice because of an operation I underwent when I was quite young, which I won’t get into. Despite this, I’ve had quite a few friends over the years who didn’t mind and make no mistake some girls have shown me interest but it didn’t go anywhere.

The main belief behind my shyness is that I don’t want to be rejected. I’m aware rejection and unrequited love is a central part of life everyone experiences but that doesn’t reduce the anxiety I feel of what if she dislikes me